Home > Educational Material > Learning Resources > Physics - Our Universe

Physics - Our Universe

The solar system


The solar system consists of the sun, planets, moons, asteroids and comets. It formed about 4.5oo million years ago from a huge cloud of gas and dust. The Sun's force of gravity holds all the planets in their orbits. The planets are grouped in two bands. The inner band consists of Mercury, Venus, Earth and mars; in the outer band are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.


There is a good poem that is used to remember the order of the planets closest to the sun:


Many Very Energetic Men Jog Slowly Upto Newport Pagnell


Mercury Venus Earth Mars Jupiter Saturn Uranus Neptune Pluto.


Exploring the Universe


Stars and other objects in the Universe produce streams of tiny particles and many kinds of waves such as radio waves, expect for light, these waves and particles are all invisible, but astronomers can study them to provide information about the universe. The atmosphere blocks many of the rays, so detectors are mounted on satellites that orbit above the earths atmosphere.


The sun, our nearest star, creates energy from nuclear reactions deep within its interior, providing all the light and heat which make life on earth possible. The earth is unique in the solar system in that it supports life: its size gravitational pull and distance from the sun have all created the optimum conditions from the evolution of life.

Educational Material

Rss Feed Available RSS Our Blog Feed

Get Adobe Reader Adobe .PDF


Help us keep it free by donating.

LiveBinder It